CTBA/CTF Library Catalog

To access the catalog of the CTBA/CTF Library, click: http://opac.libraryworld.com/opac/home.php, then type CTBA in search box.

Sullivan, Salinger Receive Scholarships

July 2017

Hayley Sullivan and Allison Salinger, third-year veterinary students at Western University of Health Sciences veterinary school, have been granted scholarships by the Foundation. Ms. Sullivan was selected for the annual award offered by the Foundation, and Ms. Salinger was given a special onetime scholarship.

Hayley’s love of Thoroughbreds began at age 6. Because she was the tallest in her group at her first riding lesson, she was paired with Sampson, the only horse of that breed at an Arabian barn. She rode Sampson for years until she was ready for her own horse. She and her parents took in Riley, an of-the-track Thoroughbred (OTTB) by Gulch who became her lifelong partner.

Through Riley’s vet, Hayley worked on days of from high school at Hollywood Park. After participating at an arthroscopic surgery one day, she decided on a future veterinary career. As an undergraduate at U.C. Davis, she rode Riley competitively, and when he developed tendonitis, she learned treatment and discovered a passion for Thoroughbred rehabilitation. At Western she rides Riley every day while maintaining at 3.6 GPA.

She plans to work in equine orthopedics and sports medicine. “I am committed to the veterinary care and well-being of the Thoroughbred sport horse,” she wrote in her application, “and am grateful that Thoroughbreds helped me find my career path.”

Allison is interested particularly in research related to equine medicine. She writes: “I grew up riding several (OTTB) racehorses and have thus gained great respect for their athleticism and adaptability.” She earned her B.S. degree at Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University and spent three years working at the Marion duPont Scott Equine Medical Center in Leesburg, Va., where many Thoroughbreds were treated.

At Western U., Allison was the Morris Animal Foundation 2015 Veterinary Scholar and earned best clinical research presentation honors in 2016. Her paper on foal distal limb development is under peer review and potentially could be used in the Thoroughbred breeding industry.

The California Thoroughbred Foundation

The California Thoroughbred Foundation is dedicated to the advancement of equine research and education. Since 1958 the Foundation has operated as a non-profit 501(c)3 corporation that can accept tax-deductible contributions. For more than five decades the CTF has sponsored numerous research and educational projects and awarded scholarships to veterinary students at U.C. Davis and Western University of Health Sciences in Pomona.

The Foundation maintains the Carleton F. Burke Memorial Library, one of the most extensive collections of equine literature found anywhere. Several generous donations of book collections and artwork form the core of the library, which is housed in the CTBA offices in Arcadia. Among its 10,000 volumes are current veterinary publications, turf histories, sales catalogs, and books spanning a wide range of subjects from equine nutrition and care to fine arts. The latest instructional videos also are available for viewing in the library.

The resources of the CTF’s Carleton F. Burke Memorial Library are available to the public for research and pleasure.


For past articles, please look at our magazine archives